The Bookstore on the Beach by Brenda Novak

Today I’m part of the Winter Reads Blog Tour from Harlequin for Women’s Fiction, dishing about The Bookstore on the Beach by Brenda Novak. This is a novel that has several subplots, but primarily focuses on three generations of women: Mary, a bookstore owner with a past she’s kept hidden; Autumn, her daughter whose husband went on a business trip and never returned; and Taylor, Autumn’s daughter, who is trying to understand her sexuality and also dealing with a life changing event. The story is told in three voices. There is some romance, some mystery, some “family issues”. This is my first Brenda Novak title and I enjoyed it!

Here’s the overview:

About the Book: For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Kay Andrews, comes New York Times bestselling author Brenda Novak’s newest standalone work of women’s fiction, a big, sweeping novel about family and the ties that bind and challenge us. In this novel, three generations of women from the same family share a house and work together at a bookstore in Colonial Beach over the course of a summer.

How do you start a new chapter when you haven’t closed the book on the last one?

Eighteen months ago, Autumn Divac’s husband went missing. Her desperate search has yielded no answers—she still has no idea where he went or why. After being happily married for twenty years, she can’t imagine moving forward without him, but for the sake of their two teenage children, she has to try.

Autumn takes her kids home for the summer to the charming beachside town where she was raised. She seeks comfort by working alongside her mother and aunt at their quaint bookshop, only to learn that her daughter is facing a life change neither of them saw coming and her mother has been hiding a terrible secret for years. And when she runs into Quinn Vanderbilt—the boy who stole her heart in high school—old feelings start to bubble up again. Is she free to love him, or should she hold out hope for her husband’s return? She can only trust her heart…and hope it won’t lead her astray.

I kept thinking that this would make a great bookclub discussion. So many times in this book I asked myself: what would I do??

Thanks for my copy and making me part of the tour!

About the Author: 

Brenda Novak, a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, has penned over sixty novels. She is a five-time nominee for the RITA Award and has won the National Reader’s Choice, the Bookseller’s Best, the Bookbuyer’s Best, and many other awards. She also runs Brenda Novak for the Cure, a charity to raise money for diabetes research (her youngest son has this disease). To date, she’s raised $2.5 million. For more about Brenda, please visit http://www.brendanovak.com.

SOCIAL:

TWITTER: @Brenda_Novak

FB: @BrendaNovakAuthor

Insta: @authorbrendanovak 

Goodreads

BUY LINKS: (Not affiliated with BBNB)

Bookshop.org: https://bookshop.org/books/the-bookstore-on-the-beach/9780778361053

IndieBound: http://www.indiebound.org/book/9780778361053

Barnes & Noble: http://barnesandnoble.com/booksearch/isbninquiry.asp?ean=9780778361053

Books-A-Million: http://www.booksamillion.com/product/9780778361053

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ISBN=0778361055/?tag=brennova09-20

Indigo: https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/the-bookstore-on-the-beach/9780778361053-item.html

Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/book/9780778361053

Walmart: https://www.walmart.com/ip/The-Bookstore-on-the-Beach-Original-ed-Paperback-9780778361053/930754084

Target: https://www.target.com/p/the-bookstore-on-the-beach-by-brenda-novak-paperback/-/A-80028510 

Let me know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s